Tuesday, May 4, 2010

RUSSIA - The Altaï Mountains

RUSSIA stamps

Map of the ALTAI MOUNTAINS range

The Altai Mountains (Russian: Алтай) are a mountain range in central Asia, where Russia, China, Mongolia and Kazakhstan come together, and where the rivers Irtysh and Ob have their sources. The Altai Mountains are known as the original locus of the speakers of Turkic as well as other members of the proposed Altaic language group.

The name, in Turkic Alytau or Altai, means Al (gold), tau (mount) ; in Mongolian Алтайн нуруу Altain nuruu, the "Mountains of Gold". The proposed Altaic language family takes its name from the mountain range.

UNESCO World Heritage Site :


Date of inscription : 1998

The Altai mountains in southern Siberia form the major mountain range in the western Siberia biogeographic region and provide the source of its greatest rivers – the Ob and the Irtysh. Three separate areas are inscribed: Altaisky Zapovednik and a buffer zone around Lake Teletskoye; Katunsky Zapovednik and a buffer zone around Mount Belukha; and the Ukok Quiet Zone on the Ukok plateau. The total area covers 1,611,457 ha. The region represents the most complete sequence of altitudinal vegetation zones in central Siberia, from steppe, forest-steppe, mixed forest, subalpine vegetation to alpine vegetation. The site is also an important habitat for endangered animal species such as the snow leopard.


Postcard sent by Nastya, as "Gulya"
Postcrossing - Reference RU-137633

The Altaï Mountains : Ak-Tru and Kurkurek Peaks. The Kurai Steppe


No comments:

Post a Comment