Thursday, May 20, 2010

BELARUS - Minsk : Station Square

BELARUS stamps

Location of MINSK in BELARUS

Minsk (Belarusian : Мiнск) is the capital and largest city in Belarus, situated on the Svislach and Niamiha rivers. Minsk is also a headquarters of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). As the national capital, Minsk has a special administrative status in Belarus and is also the administrative centre of Minsk voblast (province) and Minsk raion (district). It has a population of 1,830,000 inhabitants (2008). An urban area that includes about thirty satellite cities (e.g. Krupki) holds 3,000,000.

The earliest references to Minsk date to the 11th century (1067), when it was a provincial city within the principality of Polotsk. In 1242, Minsk became a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, and it received its town privileges in 1499. From 1569, it was a capital of the Minsk Voivodship in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. It was annexed by Russia in 1793, as a consequence of the Second Partition of Poland. From 1919–1991, Minsk was the capital of the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic.

When people come to Minsk by train at first they see the two towers of the Station Square, also called "Gates of Minsk", built in 1953. There are bronze statues situated on them. The place is beautiful, as well as the little park located close to the towers.


Postcard sent by Clara, as "Clara89"
Private swap - Reference BY001

Minsk - Station Square - "Gates of Minsk"
Built in 1953.


No comments:

Post a Comment