Monday, May 24, 2010

INDIA - Country profile




The National Flag of India is a horizontal rectangular tricolour of deep saffron, white and India green ; with the Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel, in blue at its centre. It was adopted in its present form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India. The flag was subsequently retained as that of the Republic of India. In India, the term "tricolour" (Hindi: तिरंगा, Tirangā) almost always refers to the Indian national flag. The flag is based on the Swaraj flag, a flag of the Indian National Congress designed by Pingali Venkayya.

The flag, by law, is to be made of khadi, a special type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk made popular by Mahatma Gandhi. The manufacturing process and specifications for the flag are laid out by the Bureau of Indian Standards. The right to manufacture the flag is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, who allocate it to the regional groups. As of 2009, the Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha was the sole manufacturer of the flag.

Usage of the flag is governed by the Flag Code of India and other laws relating to the national emblems. The original code prohibited use of the flag by private citizens except on national days such as the Independence day and the Republic Day. In 2002, on hearing an appeal from a private citizen, the Supreme Court of India directed the Government of India to amend the code to allow flag usage by private citizens. Subsequently, the Union Cabinet of India amended the code to allow limited usage. The code was amended once more in 2005 to allow some additional use including adaptations on certain forms of clothing. The flag code also governs the protocol of flying the flag and its use in conjunction with other national and non-national flags.



Official Name:
Bharat Ganarajya
local short form: Bharat
Int'l conventional long form: Republic of India
Int'l conventional short form: India

ISO Country Code: in

Capital City: New Delhi
The Municipality of New Delhi (pop. 11 million).

Other Cities:
Mumbai Bombay
Mumbai Metropolitan Region (formerly Bombay, pop. 15 million)
Chennai, formerly Madras (pop. 6 million), Calcutta (12 million); ; Bangalore (5 million); Hyderabad (5 million); Ahmedabad (3.7 million)

Federal Republic
Independence: 15 August 1947 (from United Kingdom).

Location: Southern Asia, bordering the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal, between Burma and Pakistan.
Area: 3.3 million sq. km. (1.3 million sq. mi.)
Terrain: varies from Himalayas to flat river valleys.

Climate: Varies from tropical monsoon in south to temperate in north.

Nationality: Noun and adjective--Indian(s).
Population (1999 est.): one billion; urban population 32%.
Ethnic groups: Indo-Aryan 72%, Dravidian 25%, Mongoloid 2%, others.
Religions: Hindu 81.3%, Muslim 12%, Christian 2.3%, Sikh 1.9%, other groups including Buddhist, Jain, Parsi 2.5%.
Languages: Hindi, English, and 16 other official languages. Literacy: 65%.

Natural resources: Coal, iron, manganese, mica, bauxite, chromite, thorium, limestone, barite, titanium ore, diamonds, crude oil.

Agriculture products: Rice, wheat, oilseed, cotton, jute, tea, sugarcane, potatoes; cattle, water buffalo, sheep, goats, poultry; fish.

Industries: Textiles, chemicals, food processing, steel, transportation equipment, cement, mining, petroleum, machinery, software.

India's Exports partners: USA 18.06%, UAE 8.01%, Hong Kong 5.12%, UK 4.78%, China 4.66%, Germany 3.98%;
(2003-2004; Source: India Trade Promotion Organisation)

India's Imports partners: USA 6.31%, China 5.26%, Belgium 5.05%, Switzerland 4.29%, UK 4.12%, Germany 3.78%;
(2003-2004; Source: India Trade Promotion Organisation)

Currency: Indian Rupee (INR)

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for the info but this was May 2010. Maybe need to update :)