Friday, August 20, 2010

ITALY - Domodossola and Calvario Mountain



Domodossola (Lombard and Piedmontese : Dòm) is a city in the Province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, in the region of Piedmont, northern Italy. It was also known as Oscela, Oscella, Oscella dei Leponzi, Ossolo, Ossola Lepontiorum, and Domo d'Ossola (because it is in the Ossola valley).


The Sacred Mountain of Domodossola (also known as Sacro Monte Calvario) is a Roman Catholic sanctuary on the Mattarella Hill, overlooking Domodossola (Piedmont, northern Italy). It is one of the nine Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy, included in the UNESCO World Heritage list.

It was built in 1657 in response to the wishes of the Capuchin friars, Gioacchino da Cassano and Andrea da Rho. The chapels, dedicated to the Via Crucis, are positioned along a devotional route which starts on the outskirts of Domodossola and ends at the summit of Mount Mattarella. The sanctuary on the summit was consecrated in 1690 and in 1828 the philosopher priest, Antonio Rosmini, founded the Institute of Charity. Over the centuries the Sacred Mountain has undergone various modifications, rebuilding and restoration including, in 1957, the wooden statues in chapels 3, 5, 6 and 7.

UNESCO World Heritage Site :


Date of inscription : 2003

UNESCO brief description :

The nine Sacri Monti (Sacred Mountains) of northern Italy are groups of chapels and other architectural features created in the late 16th and 17th centuries and dedicated to different aspects of the Christian faith. In addition to their symbolic spiritual meaning, they are of great beauty by virtue of the skill with which they have been integrated into the surrounding natural landscape of hills, forests and lakes. They also house much important artistic material in the form of wall paintings and statuary.

The nine Sacri Monti :

  • The Sacro Monte or Nuova Gerusalemme (New Jerusalem) of Varallo Sesia (1486), Varallo Sesia, province of Vercelli
  • The Sacro Monte of Santa Maria Assunta, Serralunga di Crea (1589), province of Alessandria
  • The Sacro Monte of San Francesco, Orta San Giulio (1590), province of Novara
  • The Sacro Monte of the Rosary, Varese (1598)
  • The Sacro Monte of the Blessed Virgin, Oropa (1617), province of Biella
  • The Sacro Monte of the Blessed Virgin of Succour, Ossuccio (1635), province of Como
  • The Sacro Monte of the Holy Trinity, Ghiffa (1591), province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
  • The Sacro Monte and Calvary, Domodossola (1657), province of Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
  • The Sacro Monte of Belmonte, Valperga (1712), province of Turin

Postcard sent by Chiara, as "chiarandino"
Private swap - Reference IT006

Domodossola and Calvario Mountain


No comments:

Post a Comment