Thursday, March 4, 2010

CANADA - Provincial and Territorial flags of Canada

Canada location
Canada flag

Canada stamps

Canada is a federation composed of ten provinces and three territories. In turn, these may be grouped into regions : Western Canada, Central Canada, Atlantic Canada, and Northern Canada (the latter made up of the three territories Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut). Eastern Canada refers to Central Canada and Atlantic Canada together. Provinces have more autonomy than territories. Each has its own provincial or territorial symbols.

The provinces are responsible for most of Canada's social programs (such as health care, education, and welfare) and together collect more revenue than the federal government, an almost unique structure among federations in the world. Using its spending powers, the federal government can initiate national policies in provincial areas, such as the Canada Health Act; the provinces can opt out of these, but rarely do so in practice. Equalization payments are made by the federal government to ensure that reasonably uniform standards of services and taxation are kept between the richer and poorer provinces.


Postcard sent by David, as "blu_i_husky" - Postcrossing - Reference CA-94574

The card is showing all the provincial and territorial flags of Canada.

Thanks / Merci

1 comment:

  1. Hi, I've have had a look at this first page of your blog and want to compliment you on the appearance and interest of this site. Well done and beautifully set out!